• +91 8449123448

Whitsunday Islands

About: The Whitsunday Islands, located approximately 900 kilometres (560 miles) north of Brisbane,  are a group of continental islands, totaling 74 in number, of different sizes off the central coast of Queensland, Australia. The islands also include the Great Barrier Reef which is a long stretch of coral teeming with marine life.

Region: The islands which is mostly uninhabited is known for dense rainforest, hiking trails and white sand beaches. A small of town of Airlie Beach is the region’s prime hub. This region is known for eco-style, family-friendly, activity-based, food / wine oriented luxury based tourism.

Tourism: Its spectacular landscape and endless horizon dotted with islands captivate with the emphatic beauty in it.  The clear protected waters of the Whitsunday Islands are one of the best sailing places in Australia. The islands receives hundreds of thousands visitors every year making it one of the hottest tourist destinations of Queensland. The Ngaro Sea Trail Great Walk is another interesting tourism activity which is a mix of short walks and seaways, crossing South Molle, Hook and Whitsunday islands. The tracks across the islands are connected by seaways suited to kayaking, sailing or powerboating. Camping is available at different places on the three islands. Several islands have resorts which offer a wide variety of staying facilities and activities.

Few of the total of 74 islands and islets among all the groups in the Whitsundays Islands are as follows:

Whitsunday group:

The most prominent islands in the main Whitsunday group – Dent, Hayman, Hamilton,  Hook and Whitsunday.

Lindeman group:

The most prominent island in the Lindeman group is Lindeman Island.

Molle group:

The most prominent islands in the Molle group are Daydream Island (erstwhile  West Molle Island), South Molle Island and Long Island and.

Northern group:

The few prominent islands in the Northern group are Armit, Saddleback and Gloucester.

About Australia: Australia and New Zealand are the most known countries in a wider region known as Australasia and Oceania. Oceania is the region comprising of the Australian continent and many other islands in the Pacific. The total no. of countries in Australian continent is 14 nations including Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and others ….. read more.

Tourist Attractions in Australia: 

Great Barrier Reef Uluru Sydney Harbour Bridge
Sydney Opera House Great Ocean Road Bondi Beach
Sydney Darling Harbour Kakadu National Park
Fraser Island The Twelve Apostles Phillip Island
Sunshine Coast Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park Hamilton Island
Port Jackson Circular Quay Whitehaven Beach
Blue Mountains Port Douglas Yarra River
Hunter Region Cape Tribulation, Queensland Daintree Rainforest

Copyright © 2019 Dream Mountain. All rights reserved | Design By : Website Company Dehradun