• +91 8449123448

Great Ocean Road

About: The Great Ocean Road,   an Australian National Heritage listed 244 km / 151 mi long road,  was constructed between 1919 and 1932 by returned soldiers and is dedicated to soldiers killed during World War – I. The Great Ocean Road begins at Torquay and travels westward to finish at Allansford near Warrnambool.

Tourism: The road attracts tens of thousands of visitors every year which winds through varying terrain along the coast and provides access to many prominent landmarks. The Great Ocean Road showcases rainforests, rivers, old volcanoes and coastlines and is the world’s largest war memorial which includes the Twelve Apostles limestone stack formations. The road is also one of the most prominent tourist attractions which includes the Surf Coast between Torquay and Cape Otway and the Shipwreck Coast further west of Cape Otway.

Other Attractions: The Great Ocean Road travels through Anglesea, Lorne, Apollo Bay, and Port Campbell, the latter is well known for its natural limestone and sandstone rock formations  including Loch Ard Gorge, London Arch (formerly London Bridge), The Grotto  and The Twelve Apostles.

Prehistoric Destinations: The stories of aborigines from the landscapes of the Great Ocean Road to Wathaurong country in Geelong to the Gunditjmara region of the west can be heard. The Brambuk centre in Halls Gap is known for fascinating displays of art and artefacts and the other interesting destinations are rock art sites dating back 22,000 years in the Grampians National Park.

Wildlife: The Great Ocean Road is home to a variety of native wildlife which include whales, seals, dolphins,  koalas,  the kangaroos and other wild animals. 

Landmarks of the Great Ocean Road: 

The Twelve Apostles Gibson Steps London Arch
Loch Ard Gorge The Grotto Bay of Islands
The Arch Walks in Port Campbell National Park Triplet Falls
Kennett River Lorne Teddy’s Lookout
The Lorne to Appollo Bay Drive Appollo Bay Hostel Mariners Lookout
Bells Beach

About Australia: Australia and New Zealand are the most known countries in a wider region known as Australasia and Oceania. Oceania is the region comprising of the Australian continent and many other islands in the Pacific. The total no. of countries in Australian continent is 14 nations including Australia, New Zealand, Fiji and others ….. read more.

Tourist Attractions in Australia: 

Great Barrier Reef Uluru Sydney Harbour Bridge
Sydney Opera House Sydney Bondi Beach
Whitsunday Islands Darling Harbour Kakadu National Park
Fraser Island The Twelve Apostles Phillip Island
Sunshine Coast Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park Hamilton Island
Port Jackson Circular Quay Whitehaven Beach
Blue Mountains Port Douglas Yarra River
Hunter Region Cape Tribulation, Queensland Daintree Rainforest


Copyright © 2019 Dream Mountain. All rights reserved | Design By : Website Company Dehradun