Dhyan BadriDhyan Badri temple, located in Urgam Valley near Kalpeshwar, is one of the Sapt Badri temples in the district of Chamoli, Uttarakhand. The other Sapt Badri temples are as follows: The other temples are as follows: 1) Badrinath Temple  2) Adi Badri 3) Ardha Badri 4) Bhavishya Badri 5) Yogdhyan Badri and 6) Vridha Badri. For more on Sapta Badri Temples ……. please click.

 This temple, Dhyan Badri, including all other Sapt Badri temples are located in Bdri Kshetra.  The altitude of the temple is 2135 m and can be reached from Helang Chatti by a 12 km trek. The place finds association with the Urvarishi, son of the King Puranjaya, a descendant of Pandavas who established a Vishnu temple and meditated here. The famous temple, Panch Kedar temple Kalpeshwar is only 2 km from here.  The idol made of black stone and is a four armed in a meditative form.

The group of seven temples of Lord Vishnu in Garhwal region of Uttarakhand is known as Sapta Badri. The main temple among all these temples is Badrinath temple known as Badri Vishal in Badrinath town 48 km from Joshimath. There Sapt Badri temples are very important temples and find mention in ancient sacred Hindu scripts.   

In addition to Sapt Badri temples, there is an another group of 5 temples of  Lord Vishnu (also known as Ppanch Badri) which is the combination of  all the Sapta Badri temples except for  Ardha Badri and Dhyan Badri (or sometimes called Vridha Badri). Sometimes, but rarely, Narsingh Badri, located in Joshimath, is also mentioned on the list of  Sapt Badri or Panch Badri. 

Apart from Sapt Badri and Panch Badri, Garhwal is also known for the “Panch Kedar” temples. The main temples of Lord Shiva are at five places: Kedarnath, Madmaheshwar, Tungnath, Rudranath and Kalpeshwar. These temples are known as “Panch Kedar” and the main temple among these temples is Kedarnath located in the district of Rudraprag.